Skip to main content
November 2014

We have dealt with many-many estate agents home and abroad over the years and Burgoynes of Exeter are the best we have ever done business with. Family run estate agents. Lyn Burgoynes dealt with our purchase, real professional lady and nice with it. A true diamond. All the staff were so friendly.

Mr and Mrs L

An excellent company to deal with, pleasant, helpful and polite staff.

Mr and Mrs B

Thank you to everybody at Burgoynes. Your service has been friendly and professional from our very first contact. We honestly believe that without your attention to detail and willingness to support our sale and purchase we may never have got to the point of completion! We will be recommending your company to everybody we know.

Mr and Mrs H

Dear John,
I feel it is appropriate to write and thank you and your team for completing this sale in little more than six weeks from the date of your appointment to completion
Our researches had shown us that we should interview yourself and one other agent. We felt the personal attention you offered was more appropriate to the sale of this site than the “open house” approach offered as an alternative.
You very quickly arranged viewings and an offer was received within days. With the assistance of your team we were able to establish the buyer in the best position to proceed and a deal was done very close to the asking price.
This was only the beginning of the process and I am certain the reason we were able to achieve a rapid completion was the attention your team gave to the detailed requirements of ourselves and our purchaser.
Once again thank you for your help in achieving this sale in an extremely professional manner.

Yours sincerely,
Mr H. A.

September 2014

The recent sale of our house by Burgoynes Estate Agents came to a very satisfactory conclusion. All the staff were cheerful, confident and efficient, making what could have been a nightmare into almost a pleasure.

Mrs D W

To Lyn and all the staff
You have been excellent and so professional. We hope you appreciate this little gift.

Mr & Mrs L

September 2014

The recent sale of our house by Burgoynes Estate Agents came to a very satisfactory conclusion. All the staff were cheerful, confident and efficient, making what could have been a nightmare into almost a pleasure.

Mrs D W

To Lyn and all the staff
You have been excellent and so professional. We hope you appreciate this little gift.

Mr & Mrs L

August 2014

To everyone at Burgoynes
A huge thank you for all your hard work, expertise, patience and good humour during our house sale.

With very best wishes from
Ms P. W

Thanks very much Kressida
I can honestly say you are very nice people at Burgoynes and you’ve changed my opinion of estate agents, well some of them anyway!
Please pass our thanks to all the team for getting us through this last 6 months! We shall recommend you to our Exeter friends who are looking to move.

All the best
K & G. M

To Michelle
We would like to thank you for all your efforts in making sure that we exchanged today. You really went that extra mile with the E&M enquiry and we did appreciate it. Apologies also if we proved to be difficult customers at times. Such frustrating times - we do not know how you cope with it all.

Once again many thanks.

With kind regards
Mr & Mrs B.

April 2014

Dear Mr Burgoyne
Now that the sale has successfully completed we would like to thank you and your staff who we have dealt with for a friendly and efficient service. From the initial enquiry and valuation to the final negotiations we felt we were in safe and professional hands. We certainly have no hesitation in recommending Burgoynes and we would definitely choose Burgoynes again should the need arise.

Yours Sincerely
Mr and Mrs W

March 2014

Dear John, Lyn and Kressida
We would just like to thank you all for all your fantastic efforts with the purchase of our lovely home. It was a long struggle, but we know it was worth the wait. We wish you all the best in the future and you’ll be first on our list for recommendations and future business.

Kind regards
JS & CP

January 2014

To the lovely team at Burgoynes
Thank you so much for all your help and advice over the period of buying no. 29! We are over the moon and looking forward to being your neighbours!

All the best
L & J

Our solicitor has confirmed the completion of the sale took place today so I hasten to write to express my own personal thanks for the quite marvellous job you have all done.
Having a client of her age, nearly blind and with a house 100 years old was never going to be the easiest of situations.
I am profoundly glad we chose your firm but little did I know quite how good your service would be. Highly professional yet so personal and tailored to meet her every concern/wish. She cannot speak highly enough of all the different members of your staff who made her feel quite special. She will miss you all but I am glad to report that she is very comfortable and happily settled in her new home.
It was also pleasing that she took to her purchasers very much indeed and they were particularly considerate and charming to her.
I still have many friends and relatives in and around Exeter and be assured I will take every opportunity to speak of and recommend your firm.
With renewed thanks and all good wishes to you, Linda, Michelle and all your staff.

Yours sincerely
Mr H

December 2013

I would thoroughly recommend Burgoynes Estate Agents for selling your house. They persevered with my house which was an unusual property even though it took a long time to get a buyer. I found them always to be polite and helpful in all matters and when at all possible came round personally to conduct possible purchasers around the property. It always seemed that you were getting their individual attention which is not the case with larger concerns.

Mrs W

November 2013

To all the team at Burgoynes,
We would just like to say thank you for all your support and patience while helping us sell our house. We know it was a rather drawn out process, but we got there in the end! We would be more than happy to recommend you to others in the future.

Best wishes
Nicola & Hamish

To John, Michelle,
Donna & Kressida Many thanks for your help and support during our purchase of our property. Couldn't have done it without you!

Love from all the Browns.

Just to say thank you for your help with Victoria Park Road, it was really appreciated.

Best wishes, Sandra, David & Alex

Just to say thank you for everything.

Best wishes Joan Shorland.

Dear Lyn & John
Thank you both for your patience in completing this sale. Kressida showed you how to do it!! We are all settling down and exploring Honitons wonderful shops and walks.

Lots of love from all three of us.
Mr and Mrs Robbie

Dear Lyn
I am writing to thank you for your help in selling my mothers bungalow recently. I particularly appreciate your assistance in organizing activities in my absence, when I was unable to be present, on the spot - not just viewings, liaising with buyers and obtaining meter readings, but also advice on removals and getting repairs done. It all went smoothly!

Thanks again, regards,
Mr B Smith

Just wanted you to know how impressed I was with the way you gave your time on the viewing and how you looked after me with all my enquiries/questions etc. Thankyou Kressida.

ESTAS Estate & Letting Agent Awards 2012 - Client Feedback

• Overall, I was very impressed with their service. Having sold my property in 2010 through Burgoynes, I went straight to them for finding me a new home in 2011 and they came up trumps! From both sides they are extremely professional, realistic with property values, they know the local market and treat every client like you are their most valuable, irrespective of the value of the properties concerned. An example to all in my opinion!

• John Burgoyne dealt with our house purchase. The deal almost fell through (when another couple tried to gazump us) but John managed to resolve the situation, displaying great integrity. I cannot think of a more deserving recipient of this award.

• Burgoynes were always very helpful and understanding. They were approachable and friendly at all times. Simon Jones was exceptional in offering help and assistance. If it wasn't for his advice and contacts we wouldn't have been able to purchase the property we are in.

• As a buyer, I felt that the agent had our best interests in mind in our dealings with them. When things got tricky further up the chain, they pulled out all the stops to ensure the chain didn't break. Would highly recommend.

• A first class quality service run by this small family business team.

• The service we received from all the staff at Burgoynes was first class and we would not hesitate to recommend them or use them in the future.

• We have used Burgoynes on two occasions now and recommended them to our 84 year old neighbour when she was looking to sell her property as we knew they would look after her.

• Our recent sale was that of my late mother's retirement flat and although there was not a great deal of commission to be earned, Burgoynes still went the extra mile. The sale process was made more difficult as there was a lot of bad feeling within the beneficiaries of my Mum's Estate and Burgoynes handled the situation with tact and diplomacy keeping all parties involved informed.

• I would definitely instruct and recommend Burgoynes in the future. Lyn and John Burgoyne run a tight ship and Charlotte and Catherine are both very capable and helpful additions to the team.

• Well done Burgoynes!!

• Simply the best, a good team effort.

• They did everything they could to help us.

• All the staff were helpful, polite and friendly.

• John Burgoyne worked tirelessly on the house sale for my grandparents and assisted to ensure the viewing date to completion date was under a month.

• Excellent agent - John was very good and his support was exceptional.

• The whole house purchase was handled in an excellent, professional and friendly way. I would highly recommend Burgoynes to anybody wishing to buy/sell a property.

• It was Burgoynes integrity over matters concerned with our purchase, plus it was their genuine interest and informed approach that made us choose to go with them for our sale. We were not disappointed as they facilitated both sale and purchase for us.

• We were really impressed with the service given. The agent who dealt with sale kept us informed every step of the way.

• Catherine Moore we felt was always there when we needed help and advice.

• Charlotte and Burgoynes worked harder than my own agents to make the purchase possible, nothing was too much trouble. Catherine was the only agent at all of the properties we viewed that made an effort to actually sell the house.

• The whole team was very helpful, friendly and very professional throughout the whole selling process. We would most definitely use Burgoynes again.

November 2011

Thank you for your efforts and marketing and selling the property and for keeping in touch throughout. With compliments

With compliments,
Mr Light

October 2011

Dear John

We'd like to thank you and your staff for taking on our property at Pinn Hill for sale and for giving us such a wonderful service.

We are so grateful for the way the sale was handled and would recommend Burgoynes to any potential seller.

Best wishes to you all,
Tony and Janet

August 2011

Lyn,

I just wanted to drop you a quick email to say how impressed I was with the service I received from Charlotte recently. I'm not intending to move again but should anyone want a recommendation I would certainly recommend Burgoynes. Charlotte was not only friendly and helpful every time I phoned (which was often) but also, she made what could have been a stressful time a pleasant experience. Please thank her for all her help and her sense of humour over the last couple of weeks.

Kind regards,
Mrs Ellicott

July 2011

Dear John, Lyn and the team

I would like to express my thanks and appreciation for all your hard work you put into the selling of my property. I am sure that at times it seemed like an up hill struggle, but I am pleased to say, you certainly never flagged in your efforts to reach the desired end.
Thank you so much for everything.

Best wishes,
M. Brown

March 2011

To all at Burgoynes,

Just wanted to say a big thank you for all your hard work, we got there in the end!

Wishing you all well for the future.
Kind regards,
Mr and Mrs B

January 2011

Dear John and Lyn,

Thank you so much for your wonderful advert for Hospiscare through your 'Happy New Year' spread in the Express and Echo. I understand that you donate £100 for each of the 18 properties which sold. This is an amazing contribution, particularly in these difficult times. We are very lucky to have such loyal and caring supporters as yourselves.

With best wishes,
Glynis

October 2010

Dear Lyn,

Thank you for the confirmation letter on the sale of Cob End. Both me and my brother and sisters have been delighted that the sale of our mothers house went through smoothly. The work and personal attention given by your staff at all times has reaffirmed to other friends and acquaintances that we made the correct choice with estate agents.

I met Mr and Mrs H for the first time the contracts were exchanged and completed and I am delighted that the house has been sold to such a pleasant couple.

Again a sincere well done to you and your staff , and I am happy for the contents of this communication to be used as a reference.

Yours sincerely
Tony M

July 2010

Dear John

David and I would like to thank you and your team for all the time and work given to selling Winchester Avenue. I personally felt very sad to see Mums home having to be sold. Never-the-less Mr and Mrs W are a really nice couple and eventually want it for a home for their daughter and grandchild.

I was given some comfort when they said the house had a really good feeling about it.

We do hope that there will be much happiness there. John, it was really lovely meeting up with you again and we do appreciate very much being treated as a friend and for all your kindness shown. May your business go from strength to strength.

Best wishes
Mr and Mrs D
Exwick

July 2010

To Everyone at Burgoyne's

We both can't thank you enough for all your help and dedication during the sale of our property. You have gone beyond our expectations and we appreciate it so much.

Best wishes and fond regards,
Mr and Mrs C

July 2010

Dear All,

I just wanted to write you a small note to thanks you for all the hard work you have done on our behalf. Although we are unable to move at present, I am extremely grateful for you all and recommend you to everyone.

I wish your business great success but know that you offer such a personal and fantastic service, that this will happen.
If our circumstances change in the future we will of course be calling you.

Take care and love and best wishes
Mr and Mrs C

July 2010

To Everyone at Burgoynes Estate Agents,

Brian and I can't thank you enough for all your help and dedication during the sale of our property.

You have gone beyond expectations and we appreciate it so much.

Best wishes and fond regards.
Anita and Brian

June 2010

Dear All at Burgoynes,

I just wanted to write you a small note to say a huge thank you for all the hard work you have done on our behalf. As you know our circumstances have changed and we are unable to move house at this present time. I am extremely grateful to you all and recommend you to everyone!!

I wish your business great success but know that you offer such a personal and fantastic service that this will happen.
If our circumstances change in the future we will of course be calling you.

Best wishes,
Mr and Mrs C

April 2010

To all at Burgoynes,

I am very pleased all has gone well with my sale and happy to have Ashleigh Road.

Best wishes to all,
Mrs I Wilmington

April 2010

Dear

Thank you to the Best Estate Agent in Exeter.

Moving day came in the end and here I am writing cards in the window of the flat, watching the boats go by. It is really nice and just right for me or it will be when I have got rid of a few more things and tidied up a bit. I will welcome any of you to call in when passing, everyone comes to Topsham, sometime.

Thank you so much for your personal care.

Mrs B

April 2010

Thank you all for your wisdom, skill and reassurance through a difficult time. It's very much appreciated and you have made everything possible.

Best wishes.
Christine

March 2010

Dear John and team

Thank you all for helping us through the sale of our home. Everyone dealt with it with a professional attitude. We would certainly recommend you and wish you all every success in the future.

Best wishes,
Mr and Mrs H

Hospiscare 2010

Dear John and Lyn

Your names keep appearing on our monthly accounts, either you are sending us the result of your Christmas promotion or you have sung for us at a charity concert and of course I am well aware of your generous sponsorship of our golf day. We are so very grateful to you both for all this support and help and it is particularly needed in this time of recession when charities and finding times hard.

We have received from you in the last two months £150 from a concert you gave and £1235.75 from your Christmas promotion. This is absolutely magnificent and much appreciated I can assure you. Hospice care is caring for more and more patients but still the staff manage to make each family feel special .This can only happen if we are able to continue to raise a grate deal of money. The two of you are very special people indeed and everyone at Hospicecare are grateful to you both.

With very best wishes
Mrs P Lawford
Chairman,
Exeter Friends of Hospice.

December 2009

To you all,

Thank you for selling my house so quickly. The whole affair was dealt with so efficiently but I would have expected nothing else from the No. 1 Estate Agents! Thank you again.

Wendy

August 2009

Dear John and the rest of the team

A very belated thank you to the whole team for assisting us in the sale of my house. We have settled into our new home well and the cat and dog are enjoying the garden! Wishing you continued success and again many thanks

Miss P and Mr I

August 2009

Dear All,

Thanks for all your efforts, you were more than helpful.

Kind regards
Mr and Mrs A

July 2009

Dear Mr Burgoyne,

We should like to advise our apologies for the unscheduled change of mind in respect to the sale of West Garth Road.

We should further like to convey our sincere appreciation for your approach to our situation and your commitment to customers relations.

Our decision was implemented somewhat 'overnight' and your understanding portrayed is commendable.

We can but offer our thanks and assure you that your good name will be promoted, with compliments, in any discussions we might have about Estate Agents.

Yours sincerely
Mr and Mrs D

July 2009

Dear John, Lyn and the team,

Thank you very much for your hard work and assistance in our sale and purchase, it was very much appreciated. If you're ever in the vicinity, you're more than welcome to drop in for a cup of tea! Thanks again.

Sam and Beth

June 2009

To everyone at Burgoynes

Thank you ever so much for all your efforts with our sale. We really appreciate your hard work.

Mr and Mrs R

June 2009

To all at Burgoynes,

Thank you so much for all your efforts with our sale. We really appreciate your hard work.

Mr and Mrs Reynolds

June 2009

Dear John and the team

Thank you and the team for everything it's much appreciated.

John and Sue

May 2009

To the Burgoynes team,

We would both be absolutely delighted to stay in contact with you if you are ever in the Bath area please e-mail us. It is rare to find people who share the same values so to find three in the same office is a real surprise! We feel the connection made goes beyond business and hope you will keep in touch.With very best wishes to you both.

Geoff and Linda

May 2009

To all at Burgoynes,

I just wanted to say a huge 'thank you' to you all for doing such an excellent job in relation to the sale of Mum's house. You have all been unfailingly positive and helpful and have certainly earned your commission!

Best wishes and thanks.
Mr N

April 2009

Dear John and the team,

Thank you very much for supporting me through this long journey.

Monica and Gabbi

March 2009

Dear John, Lyn and the team,

Thank you so much for everything you have all done for us. It has been a long and at times painful journey, but we got there and it was well worth it.

We are all very happy in our new home.

Thanks again,
Mr and Mrs Hill

January 2009

All at Burgoynes,

Thank you for all your help and patience! We love being in our new home.

Best Wishes
Mr and Mrs M

2009

Dear John and Lyn

Hospiscare has so much to thank you for - your sponsorship of the Golf Day, your singing in aid of the charity - but this letter is to thank you for passing on a percentage of your fee when a house sale from December to January goes through. It is incredibly generous of you and much appreciated by all.

Last year, the figure was over two thousand pounds but this year from sales registered with you last December and January the total is £3067.00. What a wonderful amount and how thrilled we are at Exeter Friends to have received this for Hospiscare. I know from seeing your double page spread in the Express and Echo that you are repeating your kind offer this year and we do thank you most sincerely. I have passed on the news to the Fund Raising office and you will see how grateful they are by the enclosed certificate marking your fund raising effort.

With very best wishes,
Yours sincerely,
Mrs P Lawford, Chairman, Exeter Friends of Hospiscare

August 2008

Dear John

Just a little personal note to thank you and congratulate you - and your admirable team - for the very positive and professional way in which you handled the sale of Monks road, in an increasingly difficult market. Your great efforts are very much appreciated by my wife and I. The end result is by way of a thoroughly satisfactory and welcome dividend of the very long and enduring friendship I have with your father.

Mr and Mrs M

March 2007

John and the team,

Just to say a big "Thank you" for all your help - in the selling of our house. It has been a pleasure to work with you at Burgoynes.

Many thanks

Mr and Mrs C

November 2006

Dear John

Just a note to say thank you so much to you and all your team for all the hard work in bringing the sale of Artillery Court to a satisfactory conclusion.

As you are aware, you were the third agency I had appointed for the sale of my property and I have to say that dealing with the other two companies had left me doubting there was such a thing as good customer service from Estate Agents! Burgoynes however, have restored my faith and I would not hesitate to use you again or to recommend you. The feedback service is impeccable.

You always went "the extra mile", constantly going way and beyond the call of duty. You ensured that you had in depth knowledge of my property and the surrounding area in order to promote it to its maximum potential and I just wanted to thank you for your wonderful service.

With regards

Glen King

November 2006

To all at Burgoynes

A rather belated note from Carole and myself to thank you both for all your help and encouragement with the selling of mum's bungalow. It was a great relief to us both to finally close the door on a very sad time and to know that the new owners were very happy with their purchase. Best wishes

Mrs L

October 2006

To all the team at Burgoynes

Thank you for an excellent job. Thank you, for the kindness, support and attention above and beyond the call of duty! We are settling in quickly and it feels like a weight off my shoulders. All Estate Agents are not the same! Would, and have, no hesitation in recommending you. Thank you for your patience with the last carry-on.
Good luck for the future.

Mrs C

August 2006

To the team at Burgoynes

Simply the best estate agents out there! We are ever so grateful.

George and Jenny

August 2006

Dear All,

Thank you for all your hard work. We got there in the end.

With love and best wishes.
Mr and Mrs F

June 2006

To you all at Burgoynes

Thank you for selling our house and making our new move so easy and stress free!!

Top job!

From Mr and Mrs C

May 2006

Dear John

We are still in the process of settling in here, and it will take a while yet, but we would like to write and thank all of you for all the work you put in on our behalf in the selling of our property.

Quite apart from the way in which you presented and marketed the property, about which we were very pleased, we were always glad to be able to rely on the calm reassurance which you all brought to the whole business of the transaction.

Thanks again and we wish your agency well.

Yours sincerely

Mr and Mrs D

November 2005

To all the staff at Burgoynes,

Thank you for the way you sold our house, the presentation was superb - But most of all the human element, never before, and we have sold six properties prior to Holly Tree, have we encountered such a caring attitude from an Estate Agent. We will have no hesitation in recommending Burgoynes, it was like dealing with 'family'!!

We hope the business goes from strength to strength.

Yours sincerely

Mr and Mrs H

September 2005

Everyone at Burgoynes

Thanks for all your help, we wouldn't hesitate recommending you and your staff.

Keep up the good work - you'll go a long way

Mr and Mrs C

September 2005

Burgoynes,

If it wasn't for people like you, there wouldn't be grateful people like us!

What can we say?!! Thank you for everything you have done for us over and above the norm. We couldn't have done it without you!

Mr and Mrs J

March 2005

Dear All

Just to thank you all for your help and support which enabled us to achieve this move - we are both settling in well. After 33 years at Cedars Road it was quite an upheaval but well worth the effort.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards.

Miss and Mrs S

June 2004

Dear John

Thank you too for all your expertise and the kindness of you all at Burgoynes, your never failing courtesy and helpfulness made things so much easier for me.

I am gradually settling in and am sure I shall be happy here. I wish you every success for the future and shall have no hesitation in recommending you to all and sundry!

Yours sincerely

Mrs B
Pinhoe